Learn how your comment data is processed. Brandon Curry brought home the title in 2019 at 36, going into the competition as the favorite after a dominant showing at the year's Arnold Classic. Men's Health participates in various affiliate marketing programs, which means we may get paid commissions on editorially chosen products purchased through our links to retailer sites. After placing second to Coleman for years, Cutler finally unseated the king. But it wasn’t just Bodybuilding in which Franco excelled, he also won powerlifting titles in Italy, Germany, and won the European title. © Copyright 2020 by Skinny2Fit.com. Arnold’s first Mr Olympia was in 1969 where he lost to Sergio Olivia, he then beat Sergio in a Mr World competition for the first time in 1970, and never looked back. Who was the greatest bodybuilder of all time? Born in Massachusetts in 1973 Jay Cutler has won Mr Olympia on four occasions, come second on six occasions, and competed in 13 separate competitions. Franco also had some success as an actor, having small parts alongside his friend Arnold in Conan The Barbarian, The Terminator, and The Running Man. Dorian used High Intensity Training to achieve his impressive physique, and got his results with much shorter workouts than his predecessors. Just because the winners are in this order, it does not necessarily mean that number 1 is a better bodybuilder or person than number 8. Meet all the notable muscle men since "Golden Boy" Larry Scott first captured the title in 1965. Here are all of the winners, and all of their very, very big biceps. Cutler saved for his first gym membership by working in the family concrete business. He’s just not as big a name as the three gentlemen above him, nor has he reached their level of success yet. Born in Sardinia in 1941, Franco Columbu has won Mr Olympia outright on 2 occasions, but he also won the Lightweight competition (back when there was a heavyweight and lightweight division) on two other occasions – losing out to Arnold Schwarzenegger each time. As has been mentioned in this article previously, Arnold’s career was not without controversy, and there are a number of bodybuilders who may feel that his name helped him to the 1980s victory more so than his physique. He won his first title in 2011 and has won every competition since. This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. But the truth is that this one man from Austria has done more for bodybuilding than anyone else, and is rightly regarded as a living legend. Not really a surprise to see Arnie being the number one choice. Instead it will look into several different factors, yes number of wins is important, but we will also look at what the winner did for Bodybuilding, and whether they achieved mainstream popularity. It has been running since 1965 and was first won by Larry Scott, who also won the 1966 contest before retiring. Despite tearing 9 tendons in his right hand and told he would never again lift, Rhoden became the oldest competitor to capture the Mr. Olympia title last year at age 43. I want to provide you with easy access to good advice that is both simple and to the point. Schwarzenegger's Son Nails His Dad's Iconic Pose, Arnold Schwarzenegger Freezes Out Snowflake Troll, Schwarzenegger Opens Up About Supplement Company, 8 Times Arnold Proved He's Way Too Fit for His Age, Vote for the TT Transformation Contest Winner Here. Ronnie Dean Coleman (born May 13, 1964) holds the record of eight straight wins as Mr. Olympia, a record career total that he shares with Lee Haney. Lee first competed in 1983 losing out to Samir Bannout and Mohamed Makkawy, but the next year in New York he took the title for himself. The Cuban had one of the smallest waists in bodybuilding and legs that were actually bigger than his waist. Which is a shame because he could have taught a lot. Meaning that between 1972 and 1983 he was never out of the top four bodybuilders in the world. He also helped popularize the preacher curl, or what some lifters now refer to as the “Scott Curl.”. He competed in 10 Mr Olympias over the course of 11 years, winning 3 in a row. Another dispute led to him boycotting the tournament for 12 years before returning in 1984, in that tournament he managed to reach 8th place. But with all due respects to Larry Scott, the competition really kicked off in 1967 when it was won by Sergio Olivia. I don’t get all this hate for the modern bodybuilders. Jay won his first Mr Olympia in 2006, defeating Ronnie Coleman after having come second to him in the previous 4 tournaments.